LBD

unnamed-5

 

Whether it is a fancy event or just a casual night out, the classic LBD will always pull through. I recently purchased this little black dress as I was fed up of wearing the same old jeans and a bodysuit or crop top, but I also needed a dress that wouldn’t make me look over dressed. Honestly, a black dress is perfect for when you just have no idea what to wear, or simply can’t be bothered looking.

At the moment, I am currently coveting a high neck, long sleeved bodycon dress from Pretty Little Thing. I bought this dress as it fits well, not to mention the long sleeves mean that I can just about bear the English weather and don’t need to take a coat on nights out. The dress features a rushed effect from the waist down and therefore it doesn’t highlight my hips. I also liked this dress as it has a high neck, a feature on many dresses and tops which is often hard to find in the new Kardashian era. The dress is super versatile with a stretchy, hugging material which highlights all the best areas.

Image result for SINITAH BLACK LONG SLEEVE RUCHED BODYCON DRESS

For a fancy event or drinks out, I would style the classic LBD with black heels, a black clutch with some silver detailing and diamanté earrings or silver hoops. The same can also be applied for a casual event, although I would switch the shoes to a pair of black ankle boots and a different coloured bag to make the outfit stand out a bit more. I wore this dress with my hair down and straightened, however you could also style it with a high, messy ponytail or bun.

Pretty Little Thing dress: https://www.prettylittlething.com/sinitah-black-long-sleeve-ruched-bodycon-dress.html

 

Image result for off the shoulder black dress motel

 

I also really love the off the shoulder black dress. The above dress is from motel and can be used for both summer and winter events.

Motel dress: http://www.motelrocks.com/products/Wata-Off-The-Shoulder-Dress-in-Black-by-Motel.html

Image result for Kathan Bodycon Dress in Black by Motel

As you can probably tell I am definitely more drawn to tighter fitting dresses as for me I think they are just more flattering on my body type. I really like the motel versions of the LBD as they have so many different variations for different body types. I like this dress as the backless style gives the dress a different feature not many dresses have and makes the dress a little more interesting and perhaps fancier.

Motel dress: http://www.motelrocks.com/products/Kathan-Bodycon-Dress-in-Black-by-Motel.html

I love this Topshop dress for the detailing, its such a different style of dress from any of the black dresses I usually see on websites. However, I am very pale and prefer a darker shade of foundation than my actual skin tone, therefore I would usually stay away from a dress that shows so much skin, as my face and body skin tone would probably not match. For me, I would definitely have to fake tan if I chose to wear this dress and I would use St Tropez.
Bag options:
Black fluffy clutch bag: https://www.prettylittlething.com/black-fluffy-clutch-bag.html
Quilted leather crossbody bag: https://www.zara.com/uk/en/woman/bags/view-all/quilted-leather-crossbody-bag-c819022p4839068.html
Crossbody bag with metal trims: https://www.zara.com/uk/en/woman/bags/view-all/crossbody-bag-with-metal-trims-c819022p4258047.html
Metallic mesh crossbody bag: https://www.zara.com/uk/en/woman/bags/view-all/metallic-mesh-crossbody-bag-c819022p4311504.html
Leopard print crossbody bag: http://www.topshop.com/en/tsuk/product/bags-accessories-1702216/bags-purses-462/ola-leather-mini-pony-crossbody-bag-6248819?bi=140&ps=20

 

 

Leave a Reply

